Mosman Park Bowling Club
Don't Miss

Ladies State Pairs Winners-15/12/17

Mosman Park take Pairs title

Women’s State Pairs Results

Bev Baker and Susan Delaporte were crowned 2017/18 Women’s State Pairs Champions following their victory in the final on Friday 15th December 2017.

The Mosman Park team defeated Manning’s Kristina Krstic and Laura Merz 24-11 in blustery conditions at Doubleview Bowling Club. It is the second year in a row that Krstic and Merz have finished runners up.

The result was a minor upset based on form with only defending champions Helen Morss and Therese Hastings finishing with a single digit margin against Krstic and Merz who had been in outstanding form until the final.

In contrast Baker and Delaporte lost a game in their section to former runners-up Angela Gunson and Cathy Taylor before beginning their winning run.

With consistency hard to come by due to a strong breeze it was only Delaporte would draw close with regularity in the early part of the game. She continued her form throughout the game to have the better of the leader’s battle and be the best player on the green.

It was a five end stretch in the middle of the game that gave the Mosman Park ladies a commanding advantage and turned the game in their favour. Consistent draw bowls from Delaporte and able support from Baker saw them score ten shots between ends six and ten to lead the game 16-6.

By contrast Krstic and Merz were forced into runners to change the head or pressure draws making it difficult to settle into a rhythm.

Their performance picked up in the second half but risky shots to get back in the game back fired with Krstic getting bad results from a couple of good bowls. A three followed by a four on the 13th and 14th ends to Baker put the game virtually beyond all doubt with Krstic need to overcome a 23-9 deficit in just four ends.

More consistent play from Baker and Delaporte ensured that was never a likely scenario and the match ended an end early at 24-11.

Delaporte and an emotional Baker accepted the trophy from President Kerry Andersen during presentations.

The title is a first for Delaporte and is Baker’s first win since her State Singles triumph in 2012.